Politics, Society, and the Economy: the Past and Today


SSHA 2020 update and Covid-19

Planning for the meeting continues!  We have an exciting meeting planned around the theme of “Politics, Society, and the Economy:  the Past and Today", and November is far enough in the future it makes sense to continue planning our meeting as usual at the present time.

We are extending the submission deadline by an additional week!  We understand many of you have been busy with coronavirus preparations on your campus, and we wanted to be sure you didn’t miss submitting to SSHA’s 46th annual conference.  Our new submission deadline is March 20.

A reminder about SSHA’s interest in supporting student travel to our conference.  Applications for $500 Richard Sutch Student Travel Awards are being accepted at https://ssha.org; the deadline for travel grant applications will also be extended to March 20.

My hope is that our annual conference will be unaffected by the spread of coronavirus, but that remains to be seen.  SSHA leadership will continue monitoring the situation, in close conjunction with our conference planners at Indiana University Conferences, and our decisions will be guided by the leading health and science recommendations going forward.


Review Process Now Complete

The SSHA Network Representatives and the Program Committee Co-chairs have completed their reviews and authors have been notified of final decisions. Authors of accepted papers can update their short abstracts and optionally upload complete papers.

The scheduling of sessions is currently underway.

Program Committee

The program co-chairs are:

Jonas Helgertz
University of Minnesota/Lund University
Linda Reeder
University of Missouri
Tim Thurber
Virginia Commonwealth University
Steven Sprick Schuster
Middle Tennessee State University


Important Dates

January 13, 2020. Website open for submissions 

March 20, 2020. Submission deadline (extended from March 13)

April 22, 2020. Authors are notified of accepted papers